Official Website for OPSEU Local 415

Notice of OPSEU 415 Elections

Nominations have closed for the officer positions for OPSEU Local 415. There will be an elections for five positions: one of the positions is acclaimed.

President: Pat Kennedy and Shawn McBride

First Vice President: Catherine Kenney and Jack Wilson

Second Vice President: Paul Ebbs and David Haley

Chief Steward: Roger Davey and J.P. Lamarche

Treasurer: Shawn Pentecost (acclaimed)

Secretary: Jenn Monk and Chris Wojcik

The vote will take place Tuesday December 3 at the following locations:

Woodroffe: (8:30-4:00) in C215B

Pembroke (9:00-3:00) in Room 308

Perth (11:00-1:00) in Room 107

in solidarity,

Nelson Ross Laguna

Staff Representative

Ontario Public Service Employees Union

Ottawa, ON

1-800-268-7376 ext.5445

Algonquin Saudi campus draws criticism from faculty

CBC Radio: Tuesday November 19,2013

The Union representing faculty at Algonquin College is speaking out against an Algonquin campus that is opening in Saudi Arabia. On Tuesday, Hallie Cotnam spoke to a member of OPSEU as well as a college Spokesperson:

Announcement for Local 415 Election of Officers

As the electoral officer, I am pleased to announce the following people have been acclaimed as stewards for Local 415. There was an acclamation at Perth after one of the candidates withdrew. The Steward list below are the people who are eligible to be nominated for any of the six officer positions:


First Vice President

Second Vice President

Chief Steward



Nominations are open until Tuesday, November 26 at 4 p.m. A nomination form appears below:

Ian Allen;Wahab Almuhtadi;Dan Anderson; Jeremy Anderson;

Rod Bain; Maria Belanger; Sharleen Conrad-Beatty; Linda Crane;

Roger Davey; Enrico DeFrancesco; Maria Durocher; Paul Ebbs;

Pauline Edmonds; Scott Fewer; Sandra Gibbons; David Haley;

Stephen Heckbert; Dushan Horvat; Jennifer Houselander; Pat Kennedy;

Catherine Kenney; J.P. Lamarche; Shawn McBride; David McCue;

Moira McDonald; Virginia Mielke; Jerome Mizon; Jennifer Monk;

Jim Myronyk; Shawn Pentecost; Judy Puritt; Mario Ramsay;

Leigh Ridgway; Audrey Rosa; Maria Taylor; Claire Tortolo;

Jack Wilson; Chris Wojcik; Leslie Wyman; Joe Yu

Nelson Ross Laguna

OPSEU Region 4 Staff Rep


I ____________________________(name of nominator) nominate_______________________(name of nominee) for the position of _____________________( name of position).  ___________________________(signature of nominator)                                            I accept ___________________( signature of nominee)

Please return to the Union Office, C215b,by November 26,2013 at 4 p.m..


Local 415 Elections

As the electoral officer,I am pleased to announce the following two people have been acclaimed as stewards at Pembroke:

Pauline Edmonds and Shawn Pentecost

The following 37 people have beem acclaimed as stewards at Woodroffe:

Ian Allen;Wahab Almuhtadi;Dan Anderson;Jeremy Anderson

Maria Belanger;Sharleen Conrad-Beatty;Linda Crane

Roger Davey;Enrico De Francesco;Marie Durocher

Paul Ebbs;Scott Fewer;Sandra Gibbons

David Haley;Stephen Heckbert;Duchan Horvat

Jennifer Houselander;Pat Kennedy;Catherine Kenney

J.P.Lamarche;Shawn McBride;David McCue

Moira McDonald;Virginia Mielke;Jerome Mizon

Jennifer Monk;Jim Myronyk;Judy Puritt

Mario Ramsay;Leigh Ridgway;Audrey Rosa

Maria Taylor;Claire Tortolo;Jack Wilson

Chris Wojcik;Leslie Wyman;Joe Yu

There will be an election at Perth and the nominees are:

Rod Bain

Darrin MacDonald

The Election at Perth will be Tuesday November 12 in room 108 from 9-1.

Nelson Ross Laguna

OPSEU Region 4 Staff Rep


Campaign for Quality Education: Off to Algonquin

As part of the union’s “quality Education” Campaign, Kevin MacKay (a faculty member from Mohawk College) is touring the 24 colleges and is reporting on his findings. You can read his updates,including his visit at Algonquin, at the following blog: